Call us on: 01786 813523

Honours & Awards


There are two lists of honours issued annually: one for the King’s Official Birthday in June and the other in late December, known as the New Year’s Honours List. Honours are open to any individual who meets the relevant level of service or merit and the lists will always contain a wide variety of people from different backgrounds and geographical areas but importantly whose work has made a significant contribution or marked difference to their community. Many are unsung heroes who have been performing their duties quietly and diligently for many years, often voluntarily, but always selflessly. It is right that the contribution to society of such people receives appropriate recognition. There are many different honours available to mark the different contributions which have been made.

All nominations are processed by the Civil Service and in Scotland nominations can be made to the Scottish Government at their offices in Edinburgh. The address is:-

The Honours Team, Scottish Government, St. Andrews House, Regent Road, Edinburgh EH1 3DG

or by email to 

The nomination form can be obtained by clicking on the link.

Any nomination made will be acknowledged but, once made, no progress reports can be given to the applicant. It can often take some years before the nomination is considered so it should not be thought that it has been forgotten. If a nomination is approved, the successful recipient will be informed directly by the Civil Service.


The King’s Award for Voluntary Service (KAVS)

This award was instituted as the Queen's Award for Voluntary Service in 2002 to mark the Golden Jubilee. It is the highest award available to volunteer organisations across the United Kingdom for outstanding work done in their community. The Lord-Lieutenant is keen to promote voluntary work in the County and to have such work recognised on the national stage.

The KAVS is open to any group which undertakes voluntary work in its community and which is of social, economic or environmental benefit to that community. It must be a group which meets the needs of the residents of its community, is used by those persons and is supported and held in high regard by that community. Most of all, it has to provide a local solution to a local problem and organised at a local level. Groups must have been operating for three years to be eligible to be nominated.

This is a hugely sought after award and is only awarded to organisations which not only meet all of the relevant criteria but goes above and beyond those criteria. Many more organisations are nominated in any one year than are rewarded but the standard of the nominated organisation is very, very high indeed.

Nominations should be made online on the KAVS website where more detailed guidance is also available. We are happy to lend assistance in this process. 

Award winners are announced annually on the Birthday of His Majesty the King on 14th November. 

The King’s Awards for Enterprise

These awards maybe applied for by companies who are based in the UK (and for this purpose it includes the Isle of Man and Channel Islands) and are available to recognise significant achievement in four diverse areas of commerce. These are:-

International Trade


Sustainable Development

Promoting Opportunity  through Social Mobility

Award winners will be invited to a Royal Reception, will be presented locally by the Lord Lieutenant with their Certificate of Award and have the right to fly the Award winners's flag at their main premises. To find out if your organisation may be eligible or to begin the application process follow the link here.